New Canadian Environmental Protection Act Webinar

New to the CEPA Webinar Series  – Friday January 22, 2021 at 1:00 pm ET 

Are Canada’s Environmental Laws up to the Challenge?  Protecting Communities, their Rights and the Environment from the Threats of Biotechnology

Announcing a fourth webinar in the series on the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA).  The Canadian Environmental Law Association (CELA) is collaborating with Nature Canada on this webinar.

Please join us.

Registration Required:  https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEvfu6sqDgqHtFzXbT-twfSd4WL47GDJpTr

Date: Friday January 22, 2021

Time: 1:00 p.m. ET (Time zones: 2:00 p.m. AT, 12 noon CT, 11 am MT, 10 am PT)

Length: 1 hr. 15 mins

For over 20 years, the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA) has been used to evaluate and manage genetically engineered animals and other products of biotechnology. In this webinar, we will explore how CEPA has performed, and whether it is protecting nature and communities exposed to products of biotechnology, particularly Indigenous people and their rights. With recent advances in genetic engineering, such as CRISPR, as well as more products of biotechnology entering the Canadian marketplace, an assessment of CEPA’s effectiveness is long overdue. In the September 2020 Throne Speech, the federal government made a commitment to “modernize” CEPA.  This webinar will highlight the recent example of AquAdvantage Salmon and the changes needed to better regulate future proposals to manufacture or import new GE animals.

We will have presentations by experts on biotechnology issues and CEPA, including:

·  Lucy Sharratt, Coordinator, Canadian Biotechnology Action Network

·  Charles Greg Sark, Professor, University of Prince Edward Island   

·  Hugh Benevides,  Advisor (CEPA Reform), Nature Canada

·  Elaine MacDonald, Senior Scientist, Ecojustice

Who should participate: Concerned citizens, Indigenous peoples, health and environmental NGOs, labour organizations, students and academics, scientists.

To register for Webinar #4: Visit CEPA Webinar series at the following: Webpage link – https://cela.ca/changes_to_cepa/

Registration link – https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEvfu6sqDgqHtFzXbT-twfSd4WL47GDJpTr.

Note that your registration will be immediate and you should receive a confirmation from CELA<no-reply@zoom.us>  

For more information, contact: Fe de Leon, MPH, Researcher and Paralegal, Canadian Environmental Law Association, deleonf@cela.ca (email); 416-960-2284 ext 7223 (office)

Background References:

Government of Canada.  Canadian Environmental Protection Act review https://www.canada.ca/en/environment-climate-change/services/canadian-environmental-protection-act-registry/review.html.

Nature Canada. July 2020. Protecting the environment from GE organisms: Proposed Amendments to Part 6, Canadian Environmental Protection Act

English: https://aaf1a18515da0e792f78-c27fdabe952dfc357fe25ebf5c8897ee.ssl.cf5.rackcdn.com/1909/CEPA+Amendments+Report+EN.pdf?v=1597840951000

French: https://aaf1a18515da0e792f78-c27fdabe952dfc357fe25ebf5c8897ee.ssl.cf5.rackcdn.com/1909/CEPA+Amendments+Report+FR.pdf?v=1597840953000

Canadian Environmental Law Association.  October 2018.  Proposed Amendments to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act https://cela.ca/proposed-amendments-to-the-canadian-environmental-protection-act/

CEPA Webinar Series. November 2020. https://cela.ca/changes_to_cepa/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s